Skip to content

Julianna Kozma – Secrets of the Dunes (Review)

April 23, 2012

We would like to thank Cheryl for her amazing review of Secrets of the Dunes: A Hannah and Emily Morgan Mystery 2!

My children loved reading “Mosquitoes of Summer” with me. I was so excited to know that the second story of the series “Secrets of the Dunes” was out.

The book opens with the family preparing to head back to PEI for summer vacation. I love their quirky family and all the scrapes they get into. It is even more of a delight once you know the characters. I do not want to give too much away, but the kids are invited to participate in an archeological dig on the Island. The mystery of history propels the plot creating tension and piquing the reader’s interest.

Kozma has matured as an author. This story is much fuller than the first of the series. It is a read that I would recommend to anyone 9 to 12.

Notes on the first book in the series “Mosquitoes of Summer”

In August 2010, I reviewed “Mosquitoes of Summer” on Goodreads.com. The review is below for anyone who is interested:

I read this book aloud with my 10 and 13 year-olds. It was a wonderful read they each identified with one of the siblings in the book. I loved all of the references to my beloved PEI.

We got to meet Julianna Kozma and her family at a book signing at Charlottetown’s Indigo. It took over an hour for my children to ask all of their questions to everyone. What a wonderful family.

A great quick read for anyone. There are numerous PEI references. Especially for those of us lucky enough to know the Twin Shores Campground and surrounding area.

Daniel, my son, reviewed “Mosquitoes of Summer” for the Edwards Magazine Bookclub on September 5, 2010.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

